RSS

Toffee Apple Cookie

20 Oct

Wow, we’re already halfway through the weekend!  I started my weekend early and had a great time with friends at our alma maters Homecoming!  Tonight I’m back home and it’s kind of cold and rainy.  The perfect night to try a new dessert.

Toffee apple cookies cooling.

I wanted to try something new and have been seeing a lot of caramel apple cookie recipes.  I wasn’t in the mood for something as sweet as caramel but liked the idea of an apple cookie.  So, since I happened to have toffee bits, I decided to adapt them to a toffee apple cookie.

I made a couple of changes to this recipe, Caramel Apple Cookies at Midwest Living.  One of them was to dice the apples rather than shred them.

Diced Apples - Toffee Apple Cookies

Dicing the apples

I also added toffee bits.  I wanted the sweetness along with the candy crunch.  I didn’t do the caramel topping as I didn’t want an overly sweet cookie.  Good thing I didn’t either, because the toffee bits added plenty of sweetness.

Toffe Bits_Toffee Apple Cookie

I’ll keep these in rotation going forward for a nice fall dessert.  I think they’d also be good with some chopped pecans, which I’ll add next time.

Halloween is coming quickly and I have a couple of events that I’ll need to plan for.  So we’re going to be planning and making some Halloween themed desserts plus one savory dish.  I’m pretty excited about them, so get ready for some scary good recipes!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 20, 2013 in Desserts

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
