RSS

It’s Never Too Early For Christmas Cookie Planning

23 Oct

So, yes, it’s just over a week away from Halloween.  I should be thinking about “slime-filled” cupcakes and “haunted” cookie houses, but I’m not.  I’ll cover those later this week.  Tonight I’m on round one of Christmas Cookie planning.

First things first, I need a little cookie motivation.

Cookies and holiday planner

Cookies and holiday planner…check!

Each year I review my previous year’s lists.  I have some traditional cookies that are almost always in rotation.  I strayed from this a few years ago and will not make that mistake again.  Let’s just say that trying an entirely new cookie recipe list is not a good idea, especially during the holidays.

A few tried and true faves that will potentially be on this years rotation include:  Candy Cane Cookies, Slice and Bake Peppermint Cookies, and Chocolate Pixies.  I can remember my mom making the candy cane cookies when I was a kid.  There’s a lot of nostalgia in the taste of those cookies.  The others were added within the past eight years or so.

Beyond my core list are a lot of possibilities.  I get most of my recipes, inspiration, etc.  from magazines.  Granted, Pinterest is a strong second in that area.  I have the “Best of Fine Cooking – Cookies” edition.  Every cookie or bar I’ve made out of it has been wonderfully delicious!

Cookie magazines

Some of my cookie magazines…

This first round of planning will take a moment.  I tend to write down every cookie/bar/candy that looks good.  After that I’ll start to whittle the list down.  I’ll be adding and then paring down recipes, so in the meantime let’s see a list of what was made last year (well, a lot of what was made).

Christmas Cookies 2012

Candy Cane Cookies, Caramel Thumbprints, Double Ginger Crackles, Peppermint Slice and Bakes (cookie shown in the magazine pic above), Vanilla Bean Angel Pillows, Chocolate Souffle Cookies (really good!), Biscotti – Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip, Sweet Cherry, Cappuccino, and Kolachky – Raspberry and Orange Marmalade.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 23, 2013 in Desserts

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
