RSS

“Haunted” Cookie House

01 Nov

Happy Halloween!  We’ve had quite a bit of Halloween fun starting with a party and fall festival over the weekend.  For both of those I took Pumpkin Pie Spice Rice Krispie Treats.  So delicious (when you do the whole recipe).  I didn’t do the whole recipe.  I skipped out on the graham cracker crust.  Yes, it makes a difference.  They were still good, but I knew they could’ve been great.

The big star for Halloween though was the “haunted” cookie house.  It took some time, but the end result was worth it.  First things first, you need to build the house.

Just getting started on the "haunted" cookie house.

Just getting started.

I used melted sugar for the glue.  I got the idea from Pinterest and it was right on the money!  It held tight and was edible.  It’s a good thing too because it was going on top of a cake.

The house was made out of chocolate graham crackers; little marshmallow ghosts were added to the inside.  Scary!

Once that part was done I got the cake in the oven and then made the frosting.  I went with chocolate, mainly because it’s my favorite.  We don’t do much dairy here so I used almond milk instead of regular.  Just beat it all together until it’s at the consistency and sweetness that you want.

Homemade Chocolate Frosting

Yum, homemade chocolate frosting!

I took a cup or so of the frosting out before adding the cocoa so I’d have a white frosting to work with too.  I ended up adding in a bit more sugar, cocoa, and milk because of that.  So good!  This frosting has some sticking power so it was perfect for holding the decorations on.

I went with candy corns, candy pumpkins, pretzels, and a bit of assorted Halloween candy to jazz it up.  I didn’t go overboard as I didn’t want it to look too cutesy.  I tinted the white frosting orange and used it to add windows on the sides.  Let’s take a look at the end product.

Front view of the "haunted" cookie house.

Watch out for the ghost!

The cake was frosted with a coconut frosting (yes, I went with the canned version, I know…).  I also underestimated the size of the house.  I was thinking there would be room to add in more decor around the house.  It was fine though, the house was the star!

Side view of the "haunted" cookie house.

Look at the size of it!

Overall, it was a good learning project.  Using melted sugar for glue was perfect, and the graham crackers were a good choice for the walls.  I’ll go with a smaller house next time.  It would’ve been nice to add in a lot more details, but the house was just so big.  It was well received though, so no complaints here.

Alright, so Halloween is wrapping up.  I’m going to snack on a little cake and start thinking about the next holiday.  Here’s the frosting recipe I use.  Until next time!

Chocolate Frosting

1/2 C. Crisco

2 C. Powdered Sugar

1/4 C. Cocoa Powder

1 t. Vanilla

1/4 C. Almond Milk (or regular milk, whatever works for you)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 1, 2013 in Desserts

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
