RSS

Creamy Brussels Sprouts With Mushrooms

04 Nov

Myself, and a large chunk of the population, enjoy Brussels sprouts during the holidays.  Now, did I always?  Definitely not.  I had tried them a few times and they just didn’t do it for me.  Then, about five years ago my mother-in-law made Brussels sprouts with cheese sauce for Thanksgiving.  I put one or two on my plate fully intending to try one, but not expecting to like it.  Surprise surprise, I did like this recipe and proceeded to eat the leftovers for the following two days.

That Thanksgiving side dish has brought me to the following recipe.  I ran across this one in my Taste Of Home Holiday magazine, circa 2008.

Creamy Brussels Sprout Bake

Taste of Home Recipe

I’ve made it twice, once for Christmas Eve and once for Thanksgiving.  Both times I felt like it needed just a little something more.  I was still in the “follow the recipe exactly” mindset back then though so I didn’t feel comfortable tweaking it.

That’s not the case anymore.  Since I had some fresh mushrooms that needed to be used I decided today was a good day to try it with some changes.  That included using Portabella mushrooms, garlic, salt, and pepper.  Not a big change, just a little tweak.

Ingredients for brussels sprouts bake

All chopped up.

I added the garlic, salt, and pepper to the mushroom mixture while it was in the frying pan.  Then, that was added to the cream cheese mixture (which I added a little salt and garlic powder to).  Next up, baking time.

Recipe in the pan

Ready for the oven

I added the cheese at the end, put it in for a little longer, and then we’re ready to eat.  It looks tasty!

Creamy brussels sprouts ready to eat.

Ready to eat!

Overall, I was happier with the additions.  It’s a heavy side dish, so keep that in mind.  I made it as a main dish for tonight and it was more than adequate.  It’s a good recipe to keep on hand, but it still doesn’t beat the one that my mother-in-law made.  I need to ask her if she still has that recipe!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 4, 2013 in Holidays

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
