RSS

Pre-Thanksgiving Dinner

06 Nov

It’s just over three weeks until Thanksgiving.  Wow, time is flying by!  We’re having the in-laws over the weekend before Thanksgiving for a little pre-holiday shopping.  I’ve been thinking about what I’d like to have for dinner that day.

I want to keep the flavors seasonal, but not make it too formal.  With the big meal only a few days later I don’t want to go overboard.  I had been looking at a couple of chicken recipes, but I don’t think poultry is the way to go.  Then, I ran across this recipe in my Fine Cooking magazine from last November.

Pork chops with cranberry maple sauce

Fine Cooking (source)

That’s right, pork chops.  This recipe is for a pan-seared pork chop with a cranberry maple sauce.  I love the idea of the cranberry and maple flavors, which I’m going to carry through out the menu.

Maple is a favorite flavor of both my DH and MIL and perfect for a November meal.  It goes well with both sweet and savory dishes.  The addition of the cranberry flavor helps to cut through the sweetness of the maple.

I am planning on a cranberry almond shortbread tart for dessert.  I’ve checked the reviews on it and there’s a little concern it may be too tart.  I’ll do a trial run on this one and see if it needs to be sweetened up at all.

Cranberry Almond Shortbread Tart

Fine Cooking (source)

I still have to figure out what I’d like to do for appetizers, but here’s the final menu.  I can’t wait, it’s going to be so good!

Pre-Thanksgiving Dinner

Appetizers: TBD

Dinner: Pecan, Radicchio, and Asian Pear Salad, Pork Chops with Cranberry Maple Sauce, Maple Roasted Carrots, and Yeast Rolls.

Dessert: Cranberry Almond Shortbread Tart

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 6, 2013 in Meals

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
