RSS

Soft Vanilla Sandwich Cookies

03 Feb

This weekend I was asked by my DH to “bake up a cookie”.  This request was seconded by my stepson.  I agreed as long as I was able to choose the cookie.  I didn’t get an resistance with that statement so I was off and running.

For those of you that are new here you will find I refer to my Fine Cooking – Cookies magazine quite often.  It has yet to let me down and so that is where I went in search of a new cookie recipe to try.

I was open to anything, as long as it didn’t contain chocolate chips.  They’re not a favorite of the DH.  As I was scanning the pages I came across this one.

Fine Cooking source

Fine Cooking source

I have been trying new recipes lately as I find I’ve been stuck in a bit of rut.  I don’t typically make sandwich style cookies so I figured this was a good place to start.  I also liked that the ingredient list was minimal as I did not want this to be too time intensive.

The batter was a cinch and I had the cookies in the oven within 10 minutes.  Here’s where I ran into a bit of a problem.  I used the two cookie sheets as directed and rotated them halfway through the baking time.

The first rotation showed me that one sheet had cookies that had spread and were already brown on the edges.  The other sheet had not spread at all.  Back in they went with me hoping that the puffy ones evened out and the others didn’t burn.

I pulled them out at the 10 minute mark which was the minimum required bake time.  Unfortunately their bottoms were almost all overdone.  Not to the point of being burnt but definitely crispy.

I let them cool and then moved them to the cookie racks.  Then I started creating the sandwich part by adding raspberry preserves to one half and apricot preserves to the other.  While they didn’t look like the picture the flavor was excellent!

Even though they didn’t turn out exactly as I had expected I will make them again.  The next time I make these I plan on reducing the temperature and cooking them one sheet at a time on the middle rack.  I’m hoping this helps as the flavor makes them worthwhile.  I would suggest trying them but watch out for potential over baking.

Until next time!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 3, 2014 in Desserts

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
