RSS

Pinterest Recipe Wins

21 Feb

I think we’ve all seen at least one or two of the blogs that feature Pinterest fails.  Indiscernible frosting jobs and exploding cake cups seem to be the norm.  Well, instead of talking about those areas I’d like to tell you about some of the Pinterest wins I’ve experienced.

I have tried quite a few recipes from Pinterest.  For the most part I’d say the majority turned out.  Now, that doesn’t mean I’d suggest all of them.  Some were just so-so, while some were awesome.  Below are the ones that I will definitely be making again.

Let’s start off with a drink win.  I made this Strawberry Sangria last Spring when we had both sets of parents over for a Sunday dinner.  Let me just say wow!  I couldn’t find the strawberry schnapps that was called for so I used watermelon schnapps instead.  I’d suggest this if you’re looking for something to jazz up your usual drink offerings.  Just be careful, it’s so good you’ll want more than just one glass.

Strawberry SangriaSource

This next recipe was a surprising win.  I made this Taco Pasta Bake for dinner one night not expecting too much.  I was wrong.  It had such a great flavor.  Even my husband, who can be a tough one to impress, commented on how good it was.  It was really easy to make too.  If you’re looking for something quick, easy, and delicious for dinner then you should try this.

This chicken recipe is probably one of the best recipes I’ve made.  Ever.  Kaytucky Chicken is a chicken breast, filled with a cream cheese, bacon, spring onion, and herb mixture.  Then it’s wrapped in puff pastry dough and baked in the oven.  If you’re looking for that recipe to impress, then look no further.  It takes a little time to get everything put together, but it’s well worth it.  My step-daughter is still asking when we can have this again.  That’s a sure sign of a winner!

One of my more recent recipe wins was Baked Pumpkin Spice Donut Holes.  I’ve made these twice and both times they were gone within a couple of hours.  I think some people are a bit hesitant to make donuts.  I’m here to say, “It’s time to make the donuts!”.  Donuts, especially the baked ones, are as easy as making muffins.  I have a mini donut baking pan so that’s what I use to make these.  Try them, you’ll love them!

Pumpkin Spice Donut HolesSource

Finally, we’ll wrap it up with a dessert that was a big win, Strawberry Lemonade Layer Cake.  It tastes exactly like you hope it tastes; it has the sweet tang of lemonade in the frosting combined with the strawberry cake and sliced strawberries on top, yum!  I made this over the summer.  It’s a perfect Spring/Summer dessert.  I highly recommend it.

Strawberry Lemonade Layer CakeSource

There you have it.  A selection of some Pinterest recipes that were wins.  I have others that I’ll share later, but these were some of the best ones to date.

What about you?  Have you tried a Pinterest recipe that was all you had hoped it would be?  Let’s hear about it!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 21, 2014 in Desserts, Meals

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment